the city of island adventures

City Hall

Pursuant to Republic Act No. 6134, Surigao was converted to a chartered city on August 31, 1970 with Pedro Espina as its first city mayor.

Zaragoza Rock Formations

Unique rock formations approximately 20 feet high stands out against a backdrop of dense coconut trees and nipa palms ( Nypa fruticans) and covers an area of one hectare.

Basul Island

A tiny island at the entrance of Hinituan Channel with fine white sand mixed with assorted shells rims.

Ipil-Mabua Pebble Beach

A contiguous layer gray of pebbles.

Birok Islet Coral Reef

A small shell beach surrounded by vast mangroves and close to a reef.

Silop Cave

Stalagmites and stalactites dominate the chambers, accessible through its twelve entrances. It is approximately 7 kilometers from the city proper.

San Pedro Cantiasay Footbridge

This wooden footbridge is among the country's longest at 391 meters, connecting Sibale and Nonoc Islands.

City Officials

Hon. Ernesto T. Matugas

City Mayor

Honorable Ernesto T. Matugas is fondly called “Nitoy” by his family and friends. He was born on November 13, 1950. He is a true-blooded Surigaonon who has made a name for himself through hard work and dedication. He excelled in his fields of school...

Hon. Alfonso S. Casurra

City Vice Mayor

Presiding Officer

Hon. Ernesto U. Matugas, Jr.

City Councilor

Chairman Committee on Agriculture and Fisheries Committee on Natural Resources and Environment Committee on Tourism

Hon. Kent L. Yuipco

City Councilor

Chairman Committee on Ways and Means Committee on Rules

Hon. Victor C. Borja

City Councilor

Chairman Committee on Public Works and Infrastructure  

Hon. Fernando S. Almeda III

City Councilor

Chairman Committee on Education and Culture Committee on Human Rights Committee Labor and Employment

Hon. Noel Christian G. Catre, Jr.

City Councilor

Chairman Committee on Good Government   Vice Chairman

Hon. Rise Faith R. Recabo

City Councilor

ChairmanCommittee on Women and Family

Hon. Perfecto B. Consigo

City Councilor

Chairman Committee on Cooperatives   Vice Chairman

Hon. Jose D. Edradan, Jr.

City Councilor

Chairman Committee on Public Order and Safety Committee on Transportation, Communication and Utilities 


Back to Top